**Canberra Chess Club** 

# Annual General Meeting – 15 June 2022

Meeting opened at 7pm

Chair: Roy Teymant

#### Attendance

Henk Doel	Brian Butler	Roy Teymant
Gary Trevean	Syed Assad	Simon Louie
Clyde Robins	Jozo Rosic	David Bulbeck
Mark Scully	Milan Grcic	Cam Cunningham
Mark Pollock	Nathalie Tisserand	Angelo Feliu
Cameron Sare	Vithyan Jeyasingham	Benjamin Irons
Zeke Kamppi	Julian Tallis	

### Apologies

Leiming Yu

### **Minutes of Previous AGM**

The minutes of the previous AGM were accepted as correct.

Moved: Mark Scully

Seconded: Gary Trevean

# **President's Report**

Roy Teymant presented the Presidents report at the request of the President:

2021 was the first full year in the club's new premises at Dundas Court in Phillip (Canberra Academy of Chess). (Previously the club had played at the Hellenic Club in the City.) In general player numbers were lower than in previous years. This may have been due to concerns regarding COVID-19 or due to the change of venue (ie due to a less central location with fewer facilities) or a combination of these factors.

During 2021 there was no play from the middle of August to the beginning of November due to COVID-19 lockdowns, which unfortunately meant that there was no Club Championship held for 2021.

Some efforts have been made this year to find another venue and we are currently waiting on a response from the Canberra Southern Cross Club and are in discussions with the Weston Raiders club.

Roy thanked the committee for their ongoing efforts.

Moved: Simon Louie

Seconded: Brian Butler

## **Treasurer's Report**

The clubs financial position is healthy with an annual income of \$2887 exceeding expenditure by \$274 and resulting in a current balance of \$6875, see attached detailed Treasurer's Report.

David Bulbeck suggested looking at the current annual subscription fee of \$20, given that subscription income is not currently meeting non-rent expenses. This was generally agreed, without being formally voted on.

The Treasurer's report was accepted.

Moved: Simon Louie

Seconded: Angelo Feliu

# Election of Office Bearers for 2022/23

The following members were elected, all unopposed.

President	Henk Doel		
Proposed: Angelo Feliu			
Seconded: Roy Teyment			
Vice President	Simon Louie		
Proposed: Henk Doel			
Seconded: Gary Trevean			
Treasurer	Brian Butler		
Proposed: Cam Cunningham			
Seconded: Clyde Robins			
Secretary	Gary Trevean		
Proposed: Roy Teymant			
Seconded: Nathalie Tisserand			
Committee Member	Syed Assad		
Proposed: Simon Louie			
Seconded: Roy Teymant			

# **Unelected Positions**

Simon Louie agreed to continue as Director of Play and Syed Assad agreed to continue maintaining the website.

### **Other Business**

### Trial of another venue (Weston Raiders Club)

There was considerable discussion regarding the merits of playing at the current venue (Canberra Academy of Chess) versus playing at a licensed club, with strong views supporting both options. The committee agreed to investigate some trial nights at the Weston Raiders Club.

### Close

The meeting closed at 7.30pm.

Gary Trevean

Secretary Canberra Chess Club